Click on the image above to learn more about the M1 Carbine

Forum Home Forum Home > The Club > General Discussion > Parts Markings
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

winchester receiver markings

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Recruit
Recruit

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote markdam Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: winchester receiver markings
    Posted: May 21 2018 at 10:16pm
can anyone help me identify these marks?

bottom reciever right next to barrel

LMTmonoMan View Drop Down
Grunt
Grunt

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote LMTmonoMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May 21 2018 at 10:42pm
I'm a newbie, so I can't answer the actual question. However, I can add a similar data point. I'm also interested too in what some gurus have to say on the matter.

I have what I'd consider similar marking on my earlier made spring tube WRA receiver in about the exact same place as yours. I can only guess as what letter, symbol, or number they are as the artifact mark doesn't seem to pressed evenly or deeply when it was originally done. To me it's two symbols for sure, and I'm guessing one's a "4", and one's a "D".

SWANEEDMB View Drop Down
On Point
On Point

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SWANEEDMB Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May 21 2018 at 10:54pm
Is a 'whitness' mark, your receiver should have one too, used for barrel alignment to the receiver.
jackp1028 View Drop Down
Hard Corps
Hard Corps

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote jackp1028 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May 21 2018 at 11:17pm
These are markings used by manufacturers for internal purposes known only to them. Possibly inspector's marks. Inland has the most well known referred to as "Inland Hieroglyphics" located on the flat of the barrel near the receiver.
JackP
markdam View Drop Down
Recruit
Recruit