The Carbine Collectors Club

Click on the image above to learn more about the M1 Carbine

Forum Home Forum Home > The Club > Registration Help /Rules/ Tutorials/New Member Introductions
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Thanks for the add to the forum. New to carbines!

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Recruit
Recruit

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GMC454 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Thanks for the add to the forum. New to carbines!
    Posted: Aug 02 2020 at 9:01am
thanks for the forum add! I’m new to carbines. Very familiar with garands but not carbines. With that said, I’ve looked around and am unable to find any real help. I just picked up an Inland M1 carbine. It has a 6-44 underwood barrel on it. The stock only has FAT 72 stamped on it. No others that I can see. The serial is 425,369. Can anyone help identify year of mfg? Thank you and god bless! 
m1a1fan View Drop Down
Hard Corps
Hard Corps
Got Para?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote m1a1fan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Aug 02 2020 at 9:24am
Welcome to the forum and carbine collecting!

FAT is an abbreviation for Fabbrica d'Armi Terni (Terni Arms Factory). It served as the main arsenal of Italy (Something like Springfield Armory in the US I would imagine). Along with the FAT marking is usually a number signifying when FAT inspected and/or refinished it and a star symbol.