The Carbine Collectors Club

Click on the image above to learn more about the M1 Carbine

Forum Home Forum Home > The Club > Safety/ Accuracy/Shooting/Ammunition/Care and Maintenance
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Question about bolt retention.

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Recruit
Recruit

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Angrysheep Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Question about bolt retention.
    Posted: May 27 2022 at 1:50pm
First time carbine owner.  Couple of questions regarding what is normal / acceptable wear for these interesting little guns.  Forgive my lack of proper terminology, I'm still learning this particular firearm.

Ok, so strip down to the bare receiver, no trigger assembly, no slide, and keep the bolt in place.......in battery.  Turn the receiver upside down, slowly hand cycle the bolt to the rear with light pressure.......

Question #1  Is it normal for the bolt to just fall out when this is done?  

The reason this happens on my carbine, is the metal that is underneath the track that the left bolt lug rides during recoil is very thin, sharp, and leaves a gap big enough for the left bolt lug to be briefly unsupported. Hence the falling out if flipped upside down when the bolt lug is over this area.

I do know that the irregular shape of this rail/track is to allow the bolt to be rotated for removal, but the metal in this area on my carbine appears to be missing more material than other pictures I've found online.  And it's thinner and sharper than magazine feed lips.....