Print Page | Close Window

H 110 powder and W 296

Printed From: The Carbine Collector's Club
Category: The Club
Forum Name: Safety/ Accuracy/Shooting/Ammunition/Care and Maintenance
Forum Description: What to Check, Reloading, Tips for Accuracy, Competitive/Recreational Shooting
URL: http://www.uscarbinecal30.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=6525
Printed Date: Apr 19 2024 at 7:01pm
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 12.01 - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: H 110 powder and W 296
Posted By: Lightning330
Subject: H 110 powder and W 296
Date Posted: Feb 04 2023 at 3:30pm
Hello: I've been reloading for 5+ years now and my favorite overall for my carbines was Accurate No. 9
at 12.5 grains. I heard 12.8 would be better, but I was happy with 12.5 because it seemed to please all.
We all are aware of the shortage. No.9 was no longer available at the time. I did find Winchester 296 and ordered a pound. Understanding that it is close to Hodgdon 110. 
My questions are: H 110 starts at 14.0 grains. Should I stick with that same number for starting with W 296? Has anyone used the W 296 in the carbine? I see No.9 is available now, but I have a full pound of W 296 and hate to not at least give it a spin. I try to stay in the 1,900 fps area with the 110 grain FMJ bullet. All my shoots are 25 to 50 yards for plinking. I do like to play a little at 100 yards if my eyes are in the mood.  Input?  Thanks again to all for your input in the past. 

-------------
Lightning 330

Replies:
Posted By: floydthecat
Date Posted: Feb 04 2023 at 4:13pm
I load 110 and 296 just alike and 12.7 grains of #9. #7 is a bit faster than #9 and you need to be careful with it, but it can be used. We use what we can find nowadays, but supplies are coming back…..except for ridiculously high primers. You can buy 9mm now as cheaply as you can reload it. Can’t say the same for 7.62x33.

Date Posted: Feb 05 2023 at 5:13pm