Forum Description: Tell us a little bit about yourself
URL: http://www.uscarbinecal30.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=3941
Printed Date: Apr 20 2024 at 12:00am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 12.01 - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: M1A1
Posted By: 03eleven
Subject: M1A1
Date Posted: Mar 14 2019 at 8:59am
New here but looks like I came to the right place! Been researching this rifle for a few days and would love to get some expert opinions on what exactly I have here. I've been collecting Garands for a few years and recently was given the opportunity to borrow this rifle from a friend for a display at a local Marine Corps League fundraiser and it was one of the crowd favorites. The owner has offered to sell me the rifle with a few hundred rounds and a dozen or so magazines. I've always wanted to add an M1 carbine (in any configuration) to my collection but I want to try and learn as much about this particular rifle as I can first. I think I have a handle on most of the gun parts but really need help identifying the stock. Here's what I know (more accurately what I think I know):

1) Receiver is a Saginaw S'G' 186xxxx (Grand Rapids? Possibly IP transition?) So I know it is not a bonafide M1A1 

2) Barrel: SA  2 51 (Blue Sky import marking), heavy wear 30.06 round sinks to the brass

3) Slide: Springfield? 7161843

4) Trigger: Inland

5) Stock: The only markings I can find is the "OI" on the bottom of the grip and "614" and the wagon wheel cast inside the buttplate, the stock appears to have been crudely modified for the selector but I read this conversion could have been performed in the field in some cases? 

Very interested to know what you think about this mashup and possibly a ballpark estimate before I drop the coin on it, thanks in advance gents!

*Sorry for the terrible photography, happy to retake any pics or other pics if needed*

-------------
Semper Fi

Replies:
Date Posted: Mar 14 2019 at 9:00am

-------------
Semper Fi