Click on the image above to learn more about the M1 Carbine

Forum Home Forum Home > The Club > General Discussion > Parts Markings
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

OG inside a square

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Recruit
Recruit

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tony70 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: OG inside a square
    Posted: Jun 17 2016 at 2:13pm
     I recently purchased a Standard Products M1. There is an OG inside a square on the stock, right in front of RRA. I know RRA is Red River Arsenal, but I can't find any information on the OG. I'm new to carbines; this is only my second one, so please excuse my ignorance. One thing I did find interesting, the butt plate is marked PM-IP. Thanks in advance.
David Albert View Drop Down
Hard Corps
Hard Corps
Status Quo Challenger

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote David Albert Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Jun 17 2016 at 2:59pm
I'm away from my reference books at the moment, but IIRC, it's an Ogden Arsenal rebuild marking.

David Albert
dalbert@sturmgewehr.com
NRA Life Member
Past Pres., The American Thompson Association
Amer. Society of Arms Collectors
OGCA/TCA/Carbine Club/GCA/IAA
SAR Writer
Author - The Many Firearm Designs of Eugene Reising
Eagle Scout
Tony70 View Drop Down
Recruit
Recruit

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tony70 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Jun 17 2016 at 3:42pm
Thanks for the information. The stock is a Standard Products, so I'll assume it's been rebuilt twice. The more I learn about carbines; the more it makes me question everything about them.
m1a1fan View Drop Down
Hard Corps
Hard Corps
Got Para?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote m1a1fan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Jun 17 2016 at 8:53pm
As stated, OG is for Odgen Arsneal. Arsenal information here: