The Carbine Collectors Club

Click on the image above to learn more about the M1 Carbine

Forum Home Forum Home > The Club > Registration Help /Rules/ Tutorials/New Member Introductions > New Member Introductions
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

New from up north

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
On Point
On Point

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote carbinecanuck Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: New from up north
    Posted: Oct 21 2017 at 12:39am
Hey everyone.  New member here from British Columbia, Canada.  Signed up a little while ago, but just starting to find some time now to have a good look through the forum.

I have been playing with M1 carbines for several years now, but only in the last two have I really started to seriously attempt collecting them. 

As I have been told, and I am certainly finding through experience, finding completely genuine examples of factory USGI M1 carbines in Canada is not common.

In the past year I feel very fortunate to have stumbled upon, not just one, but two National Postal Meter carbines (SN#s: 418xxxx and 438xxxx) that appear to retain their factory parts. Unfortunately both of them show previous owners custom handiwork as well.

I have completed a data sheet for the 418xxxx and plan to do the same for the 438xxxx soon.  It is pretty neat to see how similar they both are in terms of the parts markings each of them have.

Below is a picture of the earlier one.  Will try and post a number of photos of both soon and hopefully I can get some input from the experts out there.

Really looking forward to learning as much as I can about these intriguing firearms.

Kind regards

Courage is fear holding on a minute longer. - GEORGE S. PATTON
sling00 View Drop Down
Hard Corps
Hard Corps

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sling00 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Oct 21 2017 at 6:21am