The Carbine Collectors Club

Click on the image above to learn more about the M1 Carbine

Forum Home Forum Home > The Club > Safety/ Accuracy/Shooting/Ammunition/Care and Maintenance
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Need advice with barrel replacement

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Grunt
Grunt

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote colreed Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Need advice with barrel replacement
    Posted: Oct 30 2019 at 10:11am
Something I've never done before, I am installing a barrel (UEF) into a receiver (Rock-Ola SN 1719792). See photo of it handtight.

Per instructions in Rob Clark's video, I cleaned the shoulders and threads REAL GOOD, wire brushed and inspected. I did an initial hand tightening and the barrel rotated to the location shown in my photo. I compared this position to the one shown in the video and it was short. So I filed just a little off the skirt as the video explained. I did another hand tight and the barrel did not rotate any further, so the skirt is not the limiting factor. The base of the barrel appears engaged with the seating area of the receiver. 

Question: Has it rotated enough in this position to continue rotating it to line up the index marks?

I have the proper tools: barrel vice, and wrench.

Would appreciate your opinion please, and thanks much.

"Rescuing one animal may not change the world, but for THAT animal, THEIR world is changed forever"
Charles View Drop Down
Grunt
Grunt

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Charles Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Oct 30 2019 at 12:54pm