Click on the image above to learn more about the M1 Carbine

Forum Home Forum Home > The Club > Carbines of the Collectors
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Midway 6 digit Inland G/VG original

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Recruit
Recruit

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mortar-Forker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Midway 6 digit Inland G/VG original
    Posted: Aug 08 2021 at 3:19pm
I picked up a 833,xxx 9-43 Inland last week from Midway. It appears mostly original, although I am not an expert. The low stock has no marks except for a faint slingwell impression. The rear sight is irco 7160060. Stock has some mildew and dinged up, but appears period to the rifle. Butt plate is in exceptional condition and appears original Inland. The bore is very good and measures well with an .06 round. Does anyone have any input on the stock? Shouldn't it be low cut? The sights are supposed to be flip sights too?

Thanks and any comments or questions are welcome. 'Also own a '68 Plainfield M1A1 and had a Universal that is long gone.

John

35 Whelen View Drop Down
On Point
On Point

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 35 Whelen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Aug 08 2021 at 4:54pm
I got one of the Midway carbines too, a National Postal Meter. 

My guess is that these were transferred to to the Italians in original condition where they eventually were re-arsenaled/refinished there for police use. It seems logical that they would upgrade the biggest weakness of the original carbines- the flip sights, while leaving everything else as-is.

Again, just a guess.
painter777 View Drop Down
Hard Corps
Hard Corps

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote painter777 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Aug 08 2021 at 5:23pm
Might be a poorly struck M-U in the slingwell.
How many holes under the Butt plate ?

Charlie-P777