The Carbine Collectors Club

Click on the image above to learn more about the M1 Carbine

Forum Home Forum Home > The Club > Registration Help /Rules/ Tutorials/New Member Introductions > New Member Introductions
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Just bought my first carbine

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Recruit
Recruit

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BuyAmer1can Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Just bought my first carbine
    Posted: Dec 30 2021 at 12:50pm
Smile So I am fortunate enough to have a friend who sold me an Inland carbine and I'm trying to get up to speed with carbine info.  The rifle had been in a safe for over 30 years and had black grease and dirt all through the action.
I cleaned it up but there is a few spots of what appear to be black paint on the butt of the stock.  I'm not a wood expert so I'm going to put it out there.  Should I use a paint remover, or mineral spirits on the paint?  Would that soak into the walnut and stain it?  Should I use sand paper and risk having a clean area on the stock and have the rest of the stock look 70 years old?  Would a light sanding and tung oil treatment for the entire stock be my best bet?  HELP
Nothing from China
W5USMC View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote W5USMC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Dec 30 2021 at 1:19pm
Welcome to the forum. I have had good results using acetone to remove paint spots. Raw linseed oil only after that.

Tung oil is produced chiefly in China from the tung tree Wink
Wayne
USMC Retired
NRA Life Member
floydthecat View Drop Down
Hard Corps
Hard Corps

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote floydthecat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Dec 30 2021 at 2:46pm