The Carbine Collectors Club

Click on the image above to learn more about the M1 Carbine

Forum Home Forum Home > The Club > Registration Help /Rules/ Tutorials/New Member Introductions > New Member Introductions
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Hello from California

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
On Point
On Point

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Timothy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Hello from California
    Posted: Jan 16 2022 at 12:26pm
I’m a retired mechanical engineer with woodworking, gardening, and reloading as current hobbies.
Grew up in WI and hunted with the family there until I graduated from UW and moved to CA in ‘84. Never owned a gun here until my wife and I decided to get into handgun shooting as our COVID distraction.

My dad had a commercial M1 carbine when I was younger that my brother used….now long traded away. I remember being fascinated by the compact size and the history it represented even though a replica. Dad’s older brother carried one in WWII as a Sgt in Patton’s army. My wife and I decided recently to reconnect with the family roots, if you will, by looking for a carbine to purchase. Quickly discovered that there is a whole lot to learn about these carbines, but you already know that of course.

So I will learn what I can from you all here about the carbine with a goal towards an informed purchase of a carbine in reasonable shape that we can take to the range on occasion. Won’t be looking for a collector-grade, but just a working piece of history. An maybe add loading .30 carbine cartridges to my hobby list as well.

Thanks for listening and having me aboard.
T R
floydthecat View Drop Down
Hard Corps
Hard Corps

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote floydthecat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Jan 16 2022 at 2:36pm