The Carbine Collectors Club

Click on the image above to learn more about the M1 Carbine

Forum Home Forum Home > The Club > Safety/ Accuracy/Shooting/Ammunition/Care and Maintenance
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Primer pockets and cleaning

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
On Point
On Point

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Lightning330 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Primer pockets and cleaning
    Posted: Jun 03 2023 at 5:23pm
This question goes for most applications. I've been reloading for several years now, but usually a lot of 100 at a time. I always take the time to hand twist my Lee primer pocket cleaner. 
I just recently purchased the Tippmann 9mm Gatlin gun. 1st trip, 350 rounds. 2nd trip was 600. 
I am not a corner cutter in any way, but cleaning primer pockets has become a chore reloading such a hungry child. Without asking if they should always be cleaned. My question is: What is the best solution for soaking and cleaning after they have been de-capped and resized? I have been using Dawn, vinegar, and lemon-shine. Then the tumble polish with fine Hornady media. Half of the 950 rounds have been my reloads and not one problem. I'm just open for ideas on the best primer pocket soak and clean. 
Yep, in truth. Cutting corners but curious on ideas. Lots of reloading skills are overkill and meant to be that way for safety. I get that and I do respect it. I guess this is a chemical question at its best.  
Thanks to all for any input. 
Lightning 330
floydthecat View Drop Down
Hard Corps
Hard Corps

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote floydthecat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Jun 03 2023 at 6:44pm
I rarely ever put a tool in a primer pocket and about the only time I do is on the brass that had the primer swaged, like 5.56, 308…etc. Just never have a problem with seating primers.