Click on the image above to learn more about the M1 Carbine

Forum Home Forum Home > The Club > General Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Inland Carbine Added To Collection

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
On Point
On Point

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Lightning330 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Inland Carbine Added To Collection
    Posted: Jan 05 2023 at 4:38pm
I recently purchased this carbine and filled out a data sheet as well. It seems pretty complete and correct, but I'm no expert at all. It came with all parts listed minus the band swivel and screw. For now, they are reproduction. It came with the type 1 band and since this carbine comes in as and early made 1944 likely. The band could be wrong because I understand that the type 2 came also in early 44? Muzzle gauge is just under 2, the go no-go gauge is in specs, but at it's tail end. It will close with a little assist. 
Overall I'm pretty happy with it. Need to get it to the range when it warms up a little. I was really pleased when I broke everything down and found no stake marks on the receiver even though it has the milled PI adjustable rear sight. It has been suggested that maybe the rear sight was a field replacement? The stock appears to have worn the early mag pouch for some time due to the shadowing and snap imprint on the left side. You might see a little on the right for lines, but I assume the dark at the crossed cannons is because of the pouch as well? The dark area on the left is from heat. It is a tad crispy there. I find it all very interesting. I did retouch the barrel a little, other than that. Just cleaning. This carbine still had cosmoline throughout the trigger housing hard to get places, plus the receiver and barrel skirt area. Once again interesting? Anyway enjoy, and I hope I get all the pics to post. I'm still learning.    
Lightning 330
Lightning330 View Drop Down
On Point
On Point