Click on the image above to learn more about the M1 Carbine

Forum Home Forum Home > The Club > General Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

S'G' Parts??

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Recruit
Recruit

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote burrojack Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: S'G' Parts??
    Posted: Feb 25 2021 at 9:29am
Hey Fellow Carbine Collectors,

I have been collecting and restoring M1 carbines for about 15 years, but only recently tackled restoring an S'G' M1 carbine.  My question is this. . . . why is it so damned hard to find some S'G' parts, especially mag releases, safeties, and butt plates?? I can find triggers, hammers, sears, and slides almost every day on gunbroker or eBay (never mind the veracity of some parts seen there), but trying to find those former parts just seems to be impossible!  Any thoughts on this, new sources to find parts, etc?  Thanks!!

Burrojack (aka John Stallone)
JnS
New2brass View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Dan Pinto, Photo Editor

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote New2brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Feb 26 2021 at 9:58am
Consider all the carbines that went through a rebuild program where certain parts like the mag catch and safety was replaced by the newer versions.

Then consider that Irwin Pedersen did not have any of their carbines accepted by Ordnance. Saginaw Steering Gear was given their contract and the Grand Rapids facility to check, repair and rebuild the IP carbines as well as produce their own carbines in this facility in addition to their Saginaw facility.

We see IP and S'G' carbines that could have had either of the respective parts codes out of the GR facility.

Some sought out the "rarest" carbine that did not pass Ordnance inspection, until Saginaw fixed them. This drove up prices and others would strip these parts off other carbine and sell them.