The Carbine Collectors Club

Click on the image above to learn more about the M1 Carbine

Forum Home Forum Home > The Club > Safety/ Accuracy/Shooting/Ammunition/Care and Maintenance
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Refinishing The Furniture

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Hard Corps
Hard Corps

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote floydthecat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Refinishing The Furniture
    Posted: Sep 11 2018 at 5:33pm
Who has a procedure for cleaning and refurbishing dirty (and I do mean dirty) furniture...like this?

BER911 View Drop Down
Grunt
Grunt

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BER911 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Sep 11 2018 at 5:58pm
First, I am not an expert.  But, I have cleaned all my dirty M1 and M1 Carbine stocks and hand guards on my weapons.  Here is what I do.

I remove the wood from the receiver/barrel.  I also remove all the metal (handguards, swivels, butt plates etc.).

First, I wipe down the wood with unscented mineral spirits and then wipe dry with a clean rag.  Next, I clean the wood with some pure tung oil on cheesecloth.  I wipe down the wood, flipping the cheesecloth as needed.

I let the tung oil sit for about 10-15 minutes and then wipe it down with a dry piece of cheese cloth.

This procedure works for me.  It preserves the vintage patina of the wood, but cleans the surface of the wood.

Good luck.
Semper Fi, Bruce
jackp1028 View Drop Down
Hard Corps
Hard Corps

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jackp1028 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Sep 11 2018 at 6:45pm
You question has two answers.

If you are trying to preserve and conserve your stock and retain its vintage patina then Bruce's instruction will work well.