The Carbine Collectors Club

Click on the image above to learn more about the M1 Carbine

Forum Home Forum Home > The Club > Safety/ Accuracy/Shooting/Ammunition/Care and Maintenance
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Question on Remington M2 ammo

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Recruit
Recruit

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote john14_18 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Question on Remington M2 ammo
    Posted: Jun 22 2018 at 5:52pm
I am a newbie not only to the forum but also to M1's. I have been collecting S&W revolvers for over 40 years and usually on S&W forum but a friend of mine's husband passed away and she has the following ammo for sale and I am trying to do some research on it to get her a fair price. Could not see
any way to upload pictures here.

She has 2 metal ammo cans. Each can has 20 unopened boxes marked -20 cartridges,BALL. Caliber 30 AN-M2,
LOT RA 43301, Remington Arms co Inc. So she has a total of 800 rds and the boxes look new. The can is marked for 30 Cal.

She also has 1 opened and 8 unopened boxes marked - 20 cartridges, BALL, Caliber 30 M2
Ammunition lot number E.W. 28823
Disposal of emptied cartridge cases must be made as prescribed by A.R.
EAU CLAIRE ORDNANCE PLANT

They look like 30.06 ammo. My questions are:
1. Is there a difference between the M2 and AN-M2 ammo?
2. What would be the fair market value of it ?

I have looked on Gunbroker completed items and saw where a guy is selling 200 rds for $190 plus shipping. Wasn't sure if this was going rate or not.

What is weird is that there is no MI Garand to be found but did find a pristeen Universal MI Paratrooper model, which I know is not military, with about 400 rds of ammo in belts. Also trying to determine value of it.

Any assistance would be appreciated. Thank you in advance and have a Blessed Day!
David Albert View Drop Down
Hard Corps
Hard Corps
Status Quo Challenger