The Carbine Collectors Club

Click on the image above to learn more about the M1 Carbine

Forum Home Forum Home > The Club > Safety/ Accuracy/Shooting/Ammunition/Care and Maintenance
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Grease

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Recruit
Recruit

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote halbert Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Grease
    Posted: Feb 08 2018 at 7:39pm
Got to thinking just recently about lubricants--namely, GREASE. Has anyone on here had any experience or occasion to look into the use of "Plumber's Silicone Grease" on firearms--specifically, slides? It sure does stand up well to water and seems to do admirably at its job--to lubricate sliding parts. Would appreciate hearing any pros and/or cons from the membership.
Although I'm a fluid power engineer by trade, I've never used silicone grease on anything other than faucets and in water-proof wire nuts for splicing electrical wiring. Stuff is expensive enough, though. H-
Duty is the sublimest word in our language. Do your duty in all things... You cannot do more; you should never wish to do less.
New2brass View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Dan Pinto, Photo Editor

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote New2brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Feb 09 2018 at 10:47am
I like white lithium grease for my firearms. I have one that specifically calls for it on the bolt.
Is the plumbers silicone grease more viscous at room temperature? I am not familiar with it. 
halbert View Drop Down
Recruit
Recruit

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote halbert Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Feb 09 2018 at 2:27pm