Click on the image above to learn more about the M1 Carbine

Forum Home Forum Home > The Club > Carbines of the Collectors
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

2nd Run M1A1

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Recruit
Recruit

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote R6T8net Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 2nd Run M1A1
    Posted: Dec 12 2016 at 6:05pm
A friend of mine has offered me this M1A1. I have given a deposit and he has agreed to hold it for me while I do my due diligence and research. I'm by no means an expert but after pouring over this website, reading a Canfield article and getting a little feedback from a FB group, I think it looks pretty darn good. I'm hoping to reach a broader audience here and get more feedback regarding and also guidance on what else to look for. I'll upload a few pics and provide a link to more. Thanks in advance.

http://s95.photobucket.com/user/r6t8net/slideshow/M1A1
tenOCEE View Drop Down
Hard Corps
Hard Corps
Knows rear sights!

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tenOCEE Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Dec 12 2016 at 7:17pm
Looks very intriguing.
Why Carbines? View Drop Down
Hard Corps
Hard Corps

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Why Carbines? Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Dec 12 2016 at 8:21pm
I've seen worse for sure. I wonder how much.
m1a1fan View Drop Down
Hard Corps
Hard Corps
Got Para?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote m1a1fan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Dec 12 2016 at 9:48pm
Ask or take pictures of the middle right side of the stock as they are absent.  The back side of the stock is shown, but only at hard to see angles. Is the barrel dated? Check for signs of M1A1 wear marks. Check the lower hinge screw and figure out why it appears to be partially backed out.
R6T8net View Drop Down
Recruit
Recruit