Click on the image above to learn more about the M1 Carbine

Forum Home Forum Home > The Club > Carbines of the Collectors
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

6.12 Underwood

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Recruit
Recruit

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Blackford Oakes Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 6.12 Underwood
    Posted: Dec 11 2016 at 9:40pm
Just wanted to post this photo album link to my recent acquisition.   I am a carbine amateur looking to gain knowledge, so opinions are welcome.  Note, that I have not taken the bolt down (I may try the .30 carbine casing trick soon), nor did I remove the safety or magazine catch/release.  

This isn’t a special rifle by any means, but the first thing that jumped out at me was how uniform the patina on the metal is.  That tells me that it hasn’t been messed with for ages.  Also, you can’t see it in the pictures, but it does have a faint, boxed O.G.E.K. arsenal rework mark, so this carbine was ok’ed by THE Elmer Keith!  Oh, has anyone ever seen an almost-cursive rework “P" on the grip like this?  What about the maker’s marks on the both side of the safety?  Maybe someone can shed some light on that.

Here is the link to the album.  Click the first photo, then use the left and right arrows to scroll through.

Thanks, 

B.O.
Blackford Oakes View Drop Down
Recruit
Recruit

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Blackford Oakes Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Dec 11 2016 at 9:43pm
Oh, I forgot to mention that the sling and oiler slots were plugged when I acquired the rifle (see my thread in the Parts Markings forum).  I unplugged it and a Q-RMC was revealed!  Working at the advice of some members here to make the screw hole at the bottom of the “R" disappear. 

Thx
New2brass View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Dan Pinto, Photo Editor